Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Christmas Miracles



Christmas Miracles


There are some amazing and memorable stories in this eBook/book Christmas collection.

Inspiring, touching and heart-warming and not just for Christmas-time reading either. 

These are the kinds of stories/experiences that will uplift and inspire readers all year long, particularly those who may be struggling with a serious illness or family issues.

I was moved to tears at times, reading these stories. Many others brought a smile to my face and a feeling of gratitude for having been able to share them.

The only thing that would have added to this collection, would have been color photos to begin each chapter, instead of the rather bland black and white snow scene that was used throughout this eBook. That would have added to the presentation overall. As far as the stories though, first rate!

In a time when the world often seems to have gone mad (I've been watching the news a bit more lately :-( ) I think it is so important to remind ourselves that the world IS still filled with good people and wonders of all kinds, including true miracles. 

I have personally witnessed Christmas miracles (big and small), over the years. 

What about you? 

This is the season that should bring out the best in all of us, including extending a helping hand, not just to those we know, but to strangers too.

We can build a better world with optimism and hope through our actions and words. Sometimes even a smile can make such a big difference in someone's day. 


I wish you all, a season of happiness, hope, new beginnings and miracles too.

 And if you need a little inspiration to get started, give this eBook/book a try. ☺ 

❤  Happy Holidays! ❤


Overall rating for this eBook: Very Good. 4 out of 5

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Elvis Presley: CIA Assassin



Elvis Presley: CIA Assassin


This is one of the funniest eBooks I've ever read! :-)


If you are/were a fan of Elvis Presley and don't mind some crude language (there's quite a bit in here) give this one a go. 

I usually don't read books with much vulgar language in them. But in this case, it did fit with the story and didn't detract from the overall enjoyment of reading this book. Kind of hard to explain this aspect, but true.

I laughed til I cried in many sections of this book, especially when Elvis was out on his CIA assignments with faithful sidekick Bo. What a couple of wild and wacky guys.

The only thing that I thought could have been improved slightly was the ending, it was a bit boring compared to the rest of the book. But overall, this one is oh so funny!!!


Do let me know if you give this one a try!


And some additional information from the Amazon product page: 


"I can guarantee you. Read this book and you'll never look at Elvis the same way again!" -- Douglas Brode, author of Elvis Cinema and Popular Culture.

In 1970, singer Elvis Presley secretly met with President Richard Nixon. This new comedic novel imagines that Presley became a Central Intelligence Agency operative, eventually moving up through the ranks to become a skilled assassin.

Presented in an oral history fashion, the book tells us about Presley's secret transformation by the people who knew him best.

Did he fake his death in 1977? Was Presley involved with the Watergate scandal? The Iran hostage crisis? Communicating with aliens?

Read this book to find out the answers to these and many more questions.


Overall rating for this eBook: Very Good. 4 out of 5

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Soups On! An Upcoming eBook Promo :-)




With the arrival of autumn, I'm back into "soup mode" in a big way. :-)


I love soups of all kinds, all year round. But autumn/winter is the time when I enjoy and make them, almost every day.

To celebrate the change in season, I'm having an eBook promo at Amazon, for my newest vegetarian soup collection:





starting on October 20 and ending on October 27th.


This 151 page eBook will be available during that time at Amazon.com for only .99 cents (regular price is $3.99).


Click here for a sample recipe from this collection for you to enjoy now (pictured above): Summer's Bounty Herb and Veggie Soup

This recipe is a great way to use up the last of summer's bounty from the garden or farmer's markets.


And here's some additional info. about this eBook, from the Amazon product page:


Featuring a tantalizing selection of luscious, flavorful, body and soul warming soups.

A variety of interchangeable side dishes are also included to "round-out" a meal when you are truly ravenous and crave a bit more than just soup, to make dinner (or lunch) complete.

In: The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume II) Simply, Super, Supper Soups, you will find many of award-winning cookbook author: Geraldine Helen Hartman's, perennially-popular soup recipes.

Some of these classic soup favorites have been tweaked a bit over the years of tasting, testing and updating, with a dash of this, a spoonful of that…resulting in the tastiest results possible. And just as important, with healthier eating and cooking-method choices, kept in mind.

You will also find an array of all-new "go to" recipes that will surely become family favorites, including:

-French Green Lentil and Coconut Soup
-Cream of Cauliflower and Tarragon Soup

-Minty Fresh Green Pea Soup

-NOT Your Grandma's "Chicken" Noodle Soup

-Southern Nights Slow Cooker Veggie and Sausage Gumbo


And for side dishes, a variety of easy-to-prepare choices ranging from veggie-brimming salads to hearty specialty breads including:

-Colorburst Bean, Rice and Veggie Salad
-Easy Cheesy Soup Loaf (with variations)

-Green Goddess Dressing with Veggie Wraps

-Bran Buds and Honey Bread Machine Loaf

and many more crowd-pleasing soups and sides.

All of the recipes in this new Groovy Green Kitchen collection are vegetarian and/or vegan-friendly but they are definitely NOT just for vegetarians.
These flavorful, stick-to-your-ribs soups and side dishes will satisfy and appeal to the meat-eaters at your table too. Even the kids (always the most discerning/picky taste-testers) will give these yummy recipes the "spoons-up" and ask for more!

So dig out your favorite soup pot, biggest ladle and prettiest serving bowls and let's get started!



HAPPY SOUPING and HAPPY AUTUMN :-)


Thursday, September 8, 2016

An Early Autumn Update





Hello again and hope everyone had a great summer! 


I'm not back to blogging or reviewing much yet, still doing some travelling at this point and making some final decisions about our upcoming move.

Right now, enjoying beautiful Vancouver Island, pictured above. 
And yes, I am taking photos too but haven't had time to get them downloaded to my PC yet.The fall sure looks like it's going to be a lovely one, here on the Island. 

Joe and I (and Mr. Cheddar too!) are enjoying some much needed 'chill time' after all the hectic hustle and bustle with packing etc...over the past couple of months.

Look forward to getting back to blogging and visiting all my fav blogs again, as soon as things are a bit more settled.

 I've also recently been asked to join the new (soon to be launched) Amazon Canada Vine program, so I'm looking forward to sharing many new products from that opportunity too. I love Amazon and I'm thrilled to be asked to join this new Canadian program!

In the meantime, Wishing You a Happy Autumn and Happy Trails Too!!! 

PS: Check out this week's featured post (left top sidebar) if you are in need of some really comfy walking sandals. 

I'm wearing mine a LOT right now.  :-)

Thursday, July 7, 2016

Gone Fishin' !! ;-)


Well....not actually fishing! LOL


But I am going to take some time off from blogging and a lot of my other online pursuits. 


It's definitely time to get outside more, get some sun on my face, reconnect with nature, lots of outdoor walks/hikes, chilling at the beach.... etc. 


I also have a big move pending before the end of summer, so I'm busy preparing for that too.


In the meantime, I wish you all, a fabulous and memorable summer. Make the most of it my friends. 


Lots of Hugs and Happy Trails, G 


PS: In case you're wondering, the photo above was taken in my home province of Saskatchewan, many years ago, in beautiful Wascana Park. My favorite place to run when I lived there (around the 2.5 mile man-made lake actually)!

The haiku is one of mine too. ;-)

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Some Upcoming Summer eBook Promos! :-)



I have Amazon promotions coming up soon for 3 of my Kindle ebooks.


Hope you'll check them out and also share these promos with friends, family, blog pals...too. 


Amazon reviews are always appreciated, if you do enjoy my work. :-)






Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! 


Will be available for the discount price of .99 from July 1st-4th at Amazon.com.




Haiku Reflections II


Will be available for FREE from July 2nd-3rd at all Amazon sites. 





Mr. Cheddar's Meowsings! 


Will be available for the discount price of .99 from July 8-11 at Amazon.com. >^^<



Happy Reading and Happy July 1st and 4th! :-)

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

RV Living: The Naked Hippies Way




RV LIVING: The Naked Hippies Way


Live Your Dreams. Don't wait for "Someday"

The sub-title of this book, SUCH good advice. 

But all too often, it's so easy to put our dreams on hold for "someday". 
And that day might never come. 

Although I have no interest in become a full-time RVer, I just LOVED THIS BOOK!


RV Living by Trisha Barnes is so much more than just a guide to living the RV lifestyle. 

The author's story (actually her and her hubby's) and their advice may be helpful to anyone who is contemplating a lifelong dream, perhaps sitting on the fence about a decision to change their own lifestyle in a big way, starting over, second chances, shifting gears...the list goes on and on.

Interesting, funny, practical advice and most of all, oh so inspiring!

I was so impressed by this book that I plan to follow up (and SOON) with their mentoring program, offered at the end of the book. And offered in a friendly, non-pushy way! I appreciated that as there is nothing that turns me off more than resource books that are just one big ad for the author's other products/books. You definitely(and thankfully!) won't find that here.


From the Amazon product page:

Living in an RV is not everyone’s dream …but everyone has a dream. 

This is not an RV living for beginners "how-to" guide…it is written as a motivational "why to" live YOUR dreams NOW, no matter what your dream is. 
Whether you dream of full time RV living or your dream is far removed from the RV living lifestyle, the story of how we began living the RV dream will be one that will give you hope, encouragement and belief that anything is possible and your dream can come true, just as it did for us. 
RV Living: The Naked Hippies Way will show you that: 
No dream is too big or off limits. 
The stories shared about our how our dream of RV living full time came true are meant to inspire and motivate you to live your dreams, all of them, no matter what your dreams are. There is no dream that is deemed off limits. The life you want also wants you. 

Waiting for “someday” is betting against time. 

Far too many people put off living their dreams thinking there’s still time, later on, to do what they love … that someday they will do what their heart continually tugs at them to be and do in life. We learned from personal experience that waiting for “someday” is not an option. The only time is NOW to begin to live your dreams. 

Miracles happen when your desire to live your dream is unshakable. 
Whatever is holding you back from living your dreams now, our experiences shared in this book will help you begin to put into motion the creation and manifestation of your dream right now. You’ll begin to see that anything is possible, that unexpected miracles and synchronicities will come your way ... and that whatever you think right now is your reason to wait ... that will change and dissolve as you move in the direction of your dream. 

You can start from where you are, with what you have. 
The starting point for living your dreams is first the desire, then the decision, which is exactly how our dream became real. We didn’t know how or when it would happen; we didn’t even have the means to purchase an RV. We just never gave up on the dream and continually believed in it happening … and it did. 

And for the RVers and RV Dreamers: 
Because we do live, travel and work full time in our RV on the never-ending road trip, included in the chapters are some of our RV living secrets that have helped us live and travel simply, cheaply and safely which will definitely help anyone who is thinking about or already living the RV dream. You'll discover there are always solutions and opportunities to live your dream now instead of waiting for “someday.” 

Well done Naked Hippies ;-) you are my kind of people!


Overall rating for this eBook: Excellent. 5 out of 5

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Some Of My Fav Beach Reads (Mini Reviews)






Whether it's at the beach, in the backyard or just lounging on the sofa, for me, summertime would not be complete without plenty of beach/summer- themed books.


Here are some mini reviews of just a few of my fav beach reads (old and new) that I have enjoyed over the years. 


And if you have a favorite summer book(s) to share, please do! I'm always looking for new ones to try. ;-)





The Tour is a story set in Ireland, about a group of people on a guided tour. 

I read this story recently and finished it in a couple of days. From the great cover to the last page, I really enjoyed it.

Top marks to the author for very believable, memorable and often quirky characters.

The story moves along at a fairly good pace although there were a couple of times when I found myself skimming a few of the details re, Corlene. She was my least favorite character. Conor my favorite.

I will definitely check out more books from this author too.



A Haunted Murder is one of the best cozy mysteries I've read in a long time!

I love all things Cape Cod so right off the bat I was interested in reading this story, based on Nantucket. 

The story is original and engaging. The characters are believable and well developed. I love the ghost/spirit aspect of the story too, as someone who has also had numerous interactions with the spirit world and know that things like this DO happen in real life.





Murder on Cape Cod is another Cape Cod-themed story. 

It has a lot of twists and turns and red herrings along the way. 

I also enjoyed the 'bridge' element to the story although it once again reminded me that this is NOT a card game I'd ever personally take on!!! ;-)

Characters were well developed and believable.

I kept tapping my kindle pages right to the end and for the most part, really enjoyed the story. I did figure out who the killer was before the end though, but that was ok too.

Towards the end, I did think it was getting to be a tad too long, but overall definitely worth reading.





Life's A Beach, Then You Die is a book that I read in a couple of afternoons, during a recent summer when it was too hot to be productive and I wasn't feeling at all energetic.

It is a fun beach read. The characters are quirky, believable and rather original too.

It did get a bit repetitious as some Amazon reviewers have mentioned and by the end of the story I was ready to "wrap it up" and move on to another book.

Overall though, a fun, relaxing and entertaining way to wile away a few hours. 




Every summer, I re-read the following two books.  

Two of my all-time favorite books and both make perfect choices for relaxing summer reading.



       
     

Beachcombing at Miramar by Richard Bode

I bought this book several years ago and after reading it once, proceeded to immediately buy numerous copies to give away as gifts. I was that impressed.

One close friend carried this book around in her purse for weeks. When she needed a ’stress break’ she would pull it out to enjoy a peaceful page or two. 

Another friend stayed up all night, not able to put the book down until the last page was enjoyed. I can relate, it really is that good.

For me, this was a life-changing book and one that touched me deeply.  

The story of Richard Bode’s journey from the rat race to a peaceful and contemplative life on a California beach at Miramar. A dream that for most people remains just that. Bode went for it. Gave up his high-paying, high-pressure job and left behind the life he had always known (including a marriage that wasn’t working any more) to find himself. To live out his dream of a life filled with meaningful and one- of- a -kind “memory” days.
Beautifully written, this is a book you will never forget. A rare glimpse and chance to share an extraordinary life transition along with the author. 

I highly recommend this book to add to your summer reading list, if you haven’t read it already.



Summer’s Lease by John Mortimer

If lighter reading with plenty of laughs is what you are looking for; perhaps this next one will be more your cup/glass of iced tea. ;-)

This is the travel journal of an English family embarking on a trip to the Tuscany region of Italy. 

Mother Molly: plump, disillusioned with her marriage and the demands of motherhood, decides to respond to a rather cryptic newspaper ad for a Italian vacation rental. She takes a rather bold step (for her) and rents a “villa” in Tuscany for the summer and so begins the tale.

As one reviewer on Amazon so aptly put it:
 ” A delicious Italian dish; sun-drenched and garlic-scented novel” .

If you are looking for a fun, entertaining and well-written summer novel with a touch of suspense, mystery, romance and even strange water-shortages abounding….. you may want to give this one a try.


Happy Reading and Have a Great Summer! :-)





Sunday, June 5, 2016

Father Ted- Season 1 (DVD)


Father Ted - Season 1


I have always been a fan of UK comedy shows and Father Ted is my all-time favorite! 


This is a LOL funny series set in Ireland, that I fondly remember watching years ago with my dear mom. Seeing it again recently, it was still just as hilarious as I remember.

Some additional information about the series, from the Amazon product page:

Father Ted is one of those rare sitcoms that defies categorization--it owes as much to Flann O'Brien and Samuel Beckett as it does to Monty Python--and its blend of satire, character comedy, and anarchic surrealism has made it a cult favorite around the world.

Exiled to remote Craggy Island, Father Ted Crilley shares a house with the breathtakingly stupid Father Dougal and the constantly inebriated Father Jack, who has a small vocabulary and a taste for furniture polish. 

Their housekeeper, Mrs. Doyle, takes care of them with a never-ending supply of tea and sandwiches: "Go on now, Father, won't you try one? They're diagonal." Together they fight boredom by dressing up as Elvis, startling ducks at the fair, and provoking nuns.

This DVD contains the entire first season of Father Ted--six episodes of inspired lunacy including a visit from the excruciatingly dull Father Stone, Mrs. Doyle's solemn recitation of all the bad language in Ted's favorite novel, and the death and resurrection of Father Jack. Packed with great lines and hilarious characters, Father Ted gets better with every viewing. --Simon Leake

***


Having grown up with a strictly Roman Catholic upbringing, the comedy in this series hits even closer to the funny bone. Homing in on the reality that priests are just like everyone else: their weaknesses, their hopes and dreams, their straying from the fold now and then...and Father Ted and his mates on Craggy Island certainly prove all that to be oh so true!

If you enjoy UK comedy and/or church-based humor, you will love Father Ted. 

I enjoyed seeing this first season again so much that I ordered the full series (3 seasons) this past week. 

Oh a sad note, Dermot Morgan (Father Ted) died of a heart attack, shortly after the third season was completed. Apparently he was a very hard working person and literally worked himself to death, or so I have read online. Sad to lose this fine comedic actor, in the prime of his life/career. But his work will continue to bring many laughs and cheer, for generations to come. 

Father Ted is a timeless comedy series and one to enjoy again and again.

Overall rating for this product: Excellent. 5 out of 5



Sunday, May 29, 2016

Tanner's Lottery by Glen Sample


Tanner's Lottery by Glen Sample

                                                                           

I REALLY enjoyed this book! :-)


 I actually read it in one session, from the early afternoon to evening, on a leisurely Sunday.

I put other things I planned to do that day on hold and just kept tapping my kindle pages, wanting to find out what would happen next!

From the Amazon product page:

"Tanner Riley is a brilliant mathematician and a career insurance actuary. His understanding of numbers and number patterns led him to develop a winning strategy to win 85 million dollars in the California SuperLotto game. 

This is the story of the thrill of winning and the consequences of his secret being discovered by the wrong people."

***

If you have ever dreamed of hitting "the big one" and/or considered that there may be a way of drastically improving your odds of winning a major lottery, this is a story you won't want to miss.

Believable, well-developed characters and with a plot that moves along at a steady pace throughout the story. No wasted words or boring passages. I also love the cover, just perfect.

Best of all, a satisfying and surprising ending,  :-)

Overall rating for this eBook: Excellent. 5 out of 5

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Your Advice Please :-) RE: Organizing Photos


With a move pending later this summer, I'm currently in "organize mode" in more ways than one; including cleaning our 1000s of emails and  also trying to find a better way to (once again) organize my many, many photos



I find the MS/Windows option with folders and TRYING to pull photos into the correct folder on the sidebar, most annoying. 

All too often, they land in the folder above or below.  Can you relate? :-(



I'd love to find a free (or cheap) photo organizing program, to put an end to my photo mess, once and for all. Something that is easy to use and helpful, not just another chore to contend with. 



Any suggestions would be MOST appreciated! 

I need to get this photo pile tidied up and soon. Thanks if you can help.

Have a wonderful weekend and week to come! :-)

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

What Do You Think? Conversation Starters and Icebreakers


WHAT DO YOU THINK? Volume 1


I'm often rather shy when it comes to starting a conversation, especially with people I don't know well. So, the idea of being more relaxed and better at this particular social skill (with anyone and at anytime!) spurred me on to give this book a try. 

For the most part, I really enjoyed it.

 It has some thought-provoking questions/conversation starters, many that really make you think.

Some are fun and just plain goofy. But there are many others that bring up serious topics and situations that make a person contemplate and ponder what they would actually do, if placed in that particular scenario, in their own life.

Three (shorter) example scenarios, from the book:

"Should pet ambulances be allowed to use an emergency siren and flashing lights to run red lights if a pet is in critical condition?" 

***

"What do you think is the best kept secret in the world?"

***

"If you entered the Witness Protection Program and you had to change your occupation in 30 days, what would you be?"

***

On the goofy front: the author (or authors) seem to have quite a fixation on "passing gas", LOL!!! Several questions that come up involve farting at inopportune times. ;-)

Do you find it easy to get a conversation started, especially when talking with someone you don't know well, or at all? 



Overall rating for this eBook: Very Good. 4 out of 5

Friday, May 13, 2016

An Amazon.ca Screenshot That Made Me SMILE! :-)


This was the top of the search page for the popular keyword: AGING, at Amazon.ca, for May 12th! 

It sure made my day to see: 







#1 out of  all the "aging" books listed, a total of 400 PAGES at the Amazon Canada site! 

This, more than any of my other books, is the one written straight from the heart and in so many ways. 

My journey from mid-life and beyond. My ups and downs, successes and failures. 

And most of all, what I have learned that works and doesn't work along the way, in terms of aging successfully, pro-actively and joyfully.

I am so grateful to everyone who has supported my work and found my books, especially "the Reaper" helpful and inspiring.


Just had to share this special "Amazon.ca book moment" with my blog readers! ;-)


Have a super weekend. G 

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

ArtNaturals Enhanced Vitamin C Serum






Overall, I am impressed by this serum, after using it faithfully each night for about three weeks.

I notice my skin is looking significantly smoother, more even-toned; even some small sun spots on the side of one of my cheeks are getting lighter.

As some reviewers at Amazon have mentioned, IT does have a very thin consistency but I don't think that's any detraction from it working. The dropper container IMO is a good idea as a LITTLE goes a long way. When they suggest using a dime-sized amount for all of the neck and face area, they are right.

I'm taking off one star for the smell/scent of this serum. It is a bit strange (hard to describe) but happily fades after a few minutes and doesn't linger. I think a bit of natural orange or lemon essence added to the mix would have been nice but perhaps a concern for irritation for sensitive skin?

But as I don't like overly scented products of any kind, I still prefer this as it is, to some "perfumey" attempt to mask the ingredient scents,  as they naturally are.

This serum is on sale for a substantial discount at Amazon right now at just over $10 (regular price over $80) so it's a great time to buy and give it a try. I plan to stock up with at least 1 more bottle soon, so I don't run out before the price goes up.  ;-)

I just noted the suggestion below in the product info. from Amazon, that they say to apply with a cotton swab or towel. I find applying with my fingers works just fine. I think using something like a swab or towel would actually be rather wasteful. 

I would definitely buy this serum again. It's one of the best facial care products I've tried in a long time.

FROM THE AMAZON PRODUCT PAGE:

Indications
See reduction of fine lines and wrinkles, increased vibrancy and glow to your skin, and the diminishing of sun spots, and discoloration. Keeps skin plump, hydrated and young-looking.

Ingredients
Organic Herbal Infusion, Organic Aloe Barbadensis Leaf (Aloe), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM), Cassia Angustifolia Seed Polysaccharide (botanical hyaluronic acid), Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel), d-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Carbomer, (2s)-2-Amino-5-guanidinopentanoic Acid, Ferulic Acid, Kosher Vegetable Glycerin, Organic Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba Oil), Phenoxyethanol, Ethyl Hexyl Glycerin

Directions
Simply apply vitamin c serum once or twice daily depending on your skins needs. Apply serum to clean skin using a cotton swab, or towel. Cover face neck and decollete. If you wish to use a facial toner, do so before serum's application. Our Serums gentile absorption leaves no greasy residue allowing you to use makeup after application.


Overall rating for this product: Very Good. 4 out of 5
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...