Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Crunchmaster Multi-Seed Crackers (gluten-free)







Crunchmaster Multi-Seed Crackers are the best gluten- free crackers that I've tasted, to date. 

Many of the other gluten-free cracker brands that I've tried, like Blue Diamond, as one example, have a very strange texture, bland flavor and are not appealing at all.

These Crunchmaster crackers actually taste good on their own, no topping required unless you want to add something to them. That to me is the "true test" of overall cracker-appeal. ;-)

 I  also think they are just salty enough and the rosemary has a nice, not overbearing flavor. They come in other flavors too, but the Rosemary and Olive Oil is my fav. Absolutely fab with some hummus on top, a delish and satisfying snack, anytime of the day. And they have a wonderful crunchy texture that adds to their overall appeal in a big way.


My only complaint, one package I got had about a third of the crackers broken into small pieces. I ended up using these in veggie patties so not wasted. I haven't had another pack with that many broken crackers since but I think the packaging could be better. I did contact the company about this a few weeks ago, but haven't received a reply.

I also hope that the company adds an organic option to this cracker brand. I'm all for organics, in everything and this would make these crackers an even better choice.

Here is the ingredient/nutritional info. from the back of the package:



If you've been looking for a good gluten-free cracker or even if you aren't concerned about gluten in foods, give these a try. I think you'll like them! :-)

Overall rating for this product: Very Good. 4 out of 5


Sunday, April 20, 2014

How I Roll by J. Bryant Neville Jr.





How I Roll by Bryant Neville Jr. is not the kind of book I normally pick to read. But I noted it on one of the Top 100 Kindle lists at Amazon recently, for inspirational books and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad that I did.

I was inspired by Bryant's true life story of how he has faced his disability head-on, from the young age of 17, when he was involved in a car accident to the present day, at age 47.

I learned a lot about the reality of what it means to live life in a wheelchair and how a person with a disability like this must learn to adapt to so many "givens" that we take for granted, like going to the bathroom, bathing, showering... etc. Although I'm rather a squeamish person, I did not find these references particularly gross or hard to read; just enlightening. 

It certainly put my own (by comparison, small) challenges over the years into perspective too. How Bryant has adjusted and gone on to having a very successful life in every way, is truly inspiring for anyone who reads this book. 

His disability obviously changed his life forever, but it certainly didn't defeat him. He has accomplished so much, in spite of his disability including: graduating from college, rising up through the ranks for several upper-level employers and raising a family of his own.  


I thought the book was well written, in a realistic but still for the most part, sensitive way.

Bryant has an incredible family who really helped him to get to where he has in life, in spite of his disability. I was touched by the love that he conveyed for all the people who are close to him, including many friends who stuck by him, through the years. In that respect, Bryant is blessed so much more, than many people in similar circumstances.


There was only one sentence that I found a bit surprising and insensitive and this was not in relation to Bryant's injury. It was in reference to a weekend at the Daytona 500 when one of the drivers was tragically killed in a race. 


When asked by a friend after the weekend was over, how things had gone and if he had HAD FUN, Bryant replied: 

"Absolutely! The seats were amazing and everyone had a blast."


Wow, that didn't sound right and it bothered me, reading this. 


Other than that, a good book and one that I definitely think would help a lot of people who are struggling with big challenges and adjustments in life (of any kind) as Bryant has so capably done.

I did not find the book overly religious either. I don't like that in a book and I didn't agree with some comments from other reviewers over at Amazon, in this regard. Obviously, Bryant's faith is important to him and that is conveyed throughout this story, but not in a preachy or overbearing way.



Overall rating for this Ebook: Very Good. 4 out of 5. 

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

The Yoga Guide by B. T. Dean




As any of my regular readers already know, I've been practicing yoga for many years and love it! 

There have been times though that I have taken a break from yoga; sometimes for months and a couple of times, for years. But I always regretted it, missed yoga very much and started practicing again.

Yoga can and does affect every part of life in a positive way, if you stay with it. 


The Yoga Guide by B. T. Dean  is one of the best guides I have ever read on this topic. 


The author has done a great job of explaining (and in an easy to understand way) the various forms of yoga, the benefits to our health and overall well-being, do's and don'ts for beginners...the list goes on and on.


It also includes an easy to follow, safe yoga routine (with photos, that's so important) that would be a great starting point for most beginners.


Color photos throughout, nicely formatted and presented. 

This book is really well done, in every way.

Yoga is an exercise form that can be followed throughout life. Definitely not just for the young and super-flexible but you do need to pick the right form and postures that are best for you; taking your current level of fitness into consideration. 

And by all means, if you have any pre-existing health problems or concerns, consult with a health-care professional before beginning a yoga practice or any other new exercise regime.

If you have been curious about yoga, perhaps are considering beginning a yoga practice or are doing yoga on a regular basis already; this is a guide you won't want to miss.


It reminded me why I should always find time and make yoga a priority. And why I should never skip my yoga practice again! ;-)

Highly recommended. 

Overall rating for this Ebook: Excellent. 5 out of 5

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Louis Armstrong's All Time Greatest Hits







I got a copy of: Louis Armstrong's All Time Greatest Hits on a whim and I'm sure glad that I did. 

Every time I play this CD, it brings a smile to my day and makes me feel happy and relaxed. :-)

I have never really listened to Louis Armstrong much before this, except for hearing: It's a Wonderful World and Hello Dolly, when they've played on the radio, over the years. 


Love the songs, love the music, the vocals and of course Louis on trumpet is the ultimate treat.


If you click through to Amazon, you can preview each of the songs.



La Vie En Rose brings tears to my eyes (but in a good way) every time I hear it. How I love that song. My fav on this CD.


The duet with Bing Crosby: Gone Fishing, makes me laugh. 

Hello Dolly has me up and dancing! 


Listening to this CD also piqued my interest to find out more about the life of Louis Armstrong.

You can read more here (Wiki page) about his long career, personal life and many accomplishments over the years. Sounds like a special man, over and above being such a talented performer. 


One of the things about truly great music and musicians is that they never get stale. 

Fifty plus years later, after most of these recordings were originally made, still so relevant and fresh.



If you want a CD that will bring a smile to your day, make you want to dance around the living room with someone you love or just to dream a little dream on a rainy day, buy this one.

 I think you'll be glad you did! ;-)



Overall rating for this product: Excellent. 5 out of 5

Friday, April 4, 2014

Book Launch: Laughing AT the Grim Reaper!






Ta da....

My newest book/Ebook is now available at Amazon.com. 

You can read all about it here.

A labor of love, comes to fruition! 

I'm smiling, in a big way. :-) People were telling me when I was out and about today, that I was actually glowing!!!  

Happy Reading and Weekend!

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Heinz Bean "Horror Story" Update





In February, I posted about a recent BAD experience I had with Heinz.ca and in particular issues regarding Heinz Beans. 

You can read that post here. 

It's now another month that's gone by and still NOTHING has been done in terms of some compensation, for this whole fiasco. I did hear from Save-On Foods after my first post and then a rep. from Heinz.ca contacted me once by email, but after that, nothing.

I requested a gift certificate for $200 from Save-On (to be provided by Heinz) given all the hours of my time I've wasted, writing emails, making phone calls etc...the initial illness that Joe and I went through, due to their products and stress this whole incident caused. I didn't think that was much to ask, given all that had transpired and the total lack of response, from Heinz, when I contacted them initially and repeatedly after that.

But as I said above, nothing has been provided to date as a way to make up for all this. 

I think I've been more than patient, don't you? 

And if Heinz had responded to my complaint in a timely manner initially, this all could have been avoided! 

I don't plan to buy ANY Heinz products, ever again, after this experience. I have been told by several bloggers too that they now don't plan to buy Heinz products either. So in the long run (and this story will continue to circulate online for a long time!) Heinz has lost a LOT more than just one customer. 

If they ignore product complaints like the one I had, what else are they ignoring??

Buyer Beware!!! 

And do share this post if you can. 

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Horizons Past by Bill Stephens






I really enjoyed the novel: 


The characters are original and believable.

This is not the cookie-cutter type of romance novel that is all too prevalent now. 

No washboard abs or phoney, "doesn't ring true"  dialogue here. ;-)

The main character Trish, is a young movie actress who falls hard for a reclusive beachcomber, who is in his early sixties and is trying in vain to escape from his past and the demons that haunt him. When they first meet, Trish is badly in need of a break from tinsel town.

An intriguing and engaging plot from the first page to the last. Only a couple of passages that I found a bit far-fetched, but not enough to take away from the enjoyment of the story overall. 

And I loved the ending, it was perfection! 

And don't you just love when a book ends on the right note (whether it's happy or sad)? I sure do. 
All too often, otherwise good stories are ruined with a rushed and/or implausible ending. Author: Bill Stephens did a great job in that respect too.


Overall rating for this ebook: Very Good. 4 out of 5. 

Modern Rustic: Greenhouses and Gardening by Eric Beuning






I was really impressed by all the information provided in:



As a novice gardener, I like gardening guides that are written in an easy to understand way. This one is.

Author Eric Beuning provides chapters on:


-choosing the right greenhouse and all things to consider (and there are a lot of things to keep in mind!)

-potential problems with greenhouse pests

-planting seedlings and preparation of a garden for planting

-heirloom vegetable recommendations (and who doesn't love heirloom veggies, tomatoes in particular) ;-)

and many, many more.

Every one of the 77 pages in this ebook is full of valuable and easy to implement gardening and greenhouse tips. 

And with gardening season just around the corner in most areas, it's a perfect time to download a copy of this ebook! 



It's been too long since I've actually had a garden (hopefully this summer!) but when I do get started again, Modern Rustic will be a guide I know that I'll be referring too, again and again.

Overall rating for this ebook: Excellent. 5 out of 5. 


77 Outrageously Effective Anti-Aging Tips & Secrets by Amy Waldow





I read a lot of health-related books, especially those that make natural healing and aging successfully, a priority. 

I have yet to find any better than:




This is an excellent resource book for anyone who wants to look and feel their best, no matter what your age.


I really appreciated how the information was presented in this book. 
Very well organized and easy to navigate to your own particular subject of interest.



And what a range of topics there is! 

Everything from: skin care, detoxification, exercise, superfoods, relaxation techniques...the list truly does go on and on.



There were several things that I learned in this ebook that I had not read elsewhere too. 

Ever wondered what a Chi Machine was for? 

The true power of Color Therapy? 

Using aromatherapy for menopausal symptoms?

 You'll find these answers and a lot more in this wonderful reference book.



If you pick only a few or many of these 77 "gems" it's never too early or too late to start putting to good use, the tips for aging well that are included in this book. 

I'm already using some of these myself and plan to add more in the future. 

I'm also keeping this ebook on my Kindle Carousel (front page) as a good reminder too. ;-) 


Overall rating for this ebook: Excellent. 5 out of 5. 


Living with Gusto by Elizabeth Day








As is often the case, I "found" the book:


at just the right time; when I know I was meant to read it. 

Don't you love when that happens? I do! ;-)

I had actually accidentally deleted this ebook from my Kindle (unread) a few months ago. But when I noted the great cover at Amazon again recently, I decided to get another copy and to finally read it. I am so glad that I did.


I had over a week recently, with no computer or internet distractions and this was the perfect opportunity to read and savor every page of this wonderful book.



I was moved to tears at times. I laughed, I smiled...I nodded my head, while reading along. So much that I could relate to and learn from.



This book is for anyone who needs to find that: spark, muse,inspiration and will to try again, one more time. 



It contains so much practical advice how to turn the corner on despair and hopelessness. Beautifully written too.



I was inspired to write this poem, when I completed this book:




It's Enough



The path, when viewed.
Littered with all kinds of debris.
Past failures, wrong turns.
The might haves.
The could have beens.

But through the darkness and uncertainty.
The clouds of one more grey and dreary day.
Beyond the routines, remainders and reminders.
The light still shines.

Focus there.
Like a moth to a candle.
Dwell on it, in the now.
One step: bravely and soundly forward.
Resolute, not tentative.
Standing tall.
Unafraid.

It’s enough.

That one foot forward will lead to the next.
Savor, the feeling of letting go.
And of believing, once again.

It’s enough.

To leave tomorrow, to tomorrow.
The future, still to come.
Seize this day!
Savor and squeeze ever bit of goodness,
From these minutes.
These hours.

It’s enough.

All we really get.
And all, we really need.
The light beckons and warms.
Shines brightly and breaks through.
We glimpse again, our “lost” horizon.

It’s enough.

To grasp only the “small” picture, for now.
The puzzle pieces revealing,
such unexpected beauty.
Finally, as they fall into place.

Some names, places, faces.
Left behind and to the past.
They have served their purpose.
Now, with other roads to travel.
None to be regretted.
To know and to accept.
They have come and gone, for a purpose.
Leaving us, wiser and stronger.
If nothing else.

It’s enough.

GHH/2014


Thanks to author Elizabeth Day for sharing this intimate and unforgettable story. 




Overall rating for this ebook: Excellent. 5 out of 5. 

How to Make Scones by Anna King









I love scones in a big way!

 I was really excited about this new scone Kindle book: How to Make Scones, when I saw it at Amazon. 

But beyond the beautiful cover, things go steadily downhill fast.



Although a lot of the recipes sound delicious initially, while reading through the TOC, how they are formatted is so distracting it's hard to focus on what's actually in each recipe, let alone trying them. Big gaps between amounts and actual ingredient which makes a lot of them carry over to a line or even two below. Did the author of this ebook not actually note this? It's hard to miss and makes for a very poor first impression.


This ebook needs to be proofread, big time!


Some of the amounts also seem  (very) out of wack, unless these are suppose to make a LOT of scones, not just the typical 8 triangle circular type that most of us are accustomed to.




Example: in the Aged Cheddar Dill Scones there is: a whooping 1/2 lb. of Cheddar cheese, a full cup of whipping cream, 3/4 lb. of butter and 4 large eggs. 


Ouch. Scones might not be "health food" but they don't have to be artery-clogging nightmares either. ;-(




Deleted from my kindle already.



Overall rating for this ebook: Unsatisfactory. 1 out of 5. 

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Arm & Hammer Spinbrush Pro Clean Soft Powered Toothbrush









My Oral B power toothbrush needed replacing and as the heads often cost more to replace than a whole new toothbrush (if on sale) I decided to give the:




It WAS on sale at the time, but it's no bargain.

The cons:

Heavy, uncomfortable feel to it, when using this brush. It has a thick handle to accommodate the 2 batteries required.


When using brand new batteries, it is IMO, too powerful. Feels like it's vibrating inside your mouth. I'm all for going for super clean teeth but this is just uncomfortable and not necessary.


The battery compartment needs a Sumo wrestler to pry it open!!!
My husband is very strong and even he struggled to open this compartment, when the batteries needed replacing. And they needed replacing very quickly.



The pros: 

None that I can think of.



I'm going back and staying with Oral B power brushes from now on. You DO get what you pay for and this one is a very bad design and not worth buying, even on sale.


Overall rating for this product: Unsatisfactory. 1 out of 5. 

Backyard Berries by Susan Burnetter








I love berries of all kinds, especially when they are grown organically. 

But as author Susan Burnetter says in her book: Backyard Berries, all too often organic berries in particular come with a high price tag at the grocery store or farmer's market. If at all possible, it's so much better to grow your own, for so many reasons.

I hope to be back to gardening very soon and now, thanks to the easy to understand information about growing berries in this guide, I'm planning to add some bushes to the mix. Raspberries and blackberries first!

The information in this guide was easy to understand, even for a novice gardener like me. I feel confident that I could grow berries successfully after reading this ebook.

Nicely formatted too (something lacking all too often in Kindle books).

I loved that the author also included some LUSCIOUS and I do mean luscious and healthier berry recipes at the end of this book, what a nice touch.

  Berry Cream Bars, Triple Berry Cobbler, Blackberry Bars...to name but three, yummm!!!!

I am also looking forward to checking out some of this author's other resource books on a variety of topics. I was really impressed by the list she included with links, at the end of this book.

Backyard Berries is definitely one to add to your gardening resource collection. This one is a keeper! ;-)


Overall rating for this ebook: Excellent. 5 out of 5

The Rekindled Affair by Peter John








I liked the cover of this book: The Rekindled Affair by Peter John and it sounded like a fun and entertaining story, but what a disappointment.

Brash and boring and worst of all enforces a lot of the misguided beliefs that too many people have about what aging is all about. 

Both of the characters in this book were soooo annoying and far from believable too.

Don't waste your time this is one big stinker. 

Even though it was a very short book, I still couldn't be bothered finishing it. 
Deleted from my kindle already.


Overall rating for this ebook: BAD. 0 out of 5



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...